Barcelona forward Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or award for the world’s best player for a record fifth time.

The 28-year-old Argentine claimed the 2015 award at the annual ceremony in Zurich on Monday evening claiming 41.33% of the vote. The award is voted for by a panel of journalists, international coaches and captains. Real Madrid forward Ronaldo was second with 27.76% of the vote and Barca’s Neymar was third with 7.86%.

Upon receiving the award Messi said: “This is a very special moment for me to be back here on this stage again winning another Ballon d’Or.”

“It’s incredible that it’s my fifth and is much more than anything I could have dreamed of as a kid. I want to thank all of those who voted for me first of all. I also want to thank my team-mates, as I always say none of this wold ever have been possible without them.”

“And lastly, I want to thank football in general for everything it has brought me, both the bad and the good, because it has made me grow and learn always.”

Over the past eight years the award has only been won by either Messi or Ronaldo.


Below is the full list of the awards at the FIFA ceremony:

Ballon d’Or – Lionel Messi

World Coach of the Year – Luis Enrique

Puskas Goal of the Year – Wendrell Lira (view here)

FIFA / FIFAPro World XI – Manuel Neuer; Marcelo, Thiago Silva, Sergio Ramos, Dani Alves; Andres Iniesta, Luka Modric, Paul Pogba; Neymar, Lionel Messi, Ronaldo.

Share this article: